Alien Bees B800

Browncoat

Thinking about a serious lighting upgrade to a couple B800s, stands, and 2.5x5ft light boxes along w/ Pocket Wizards to trigger them.

Any Alien Bees users here?

Ranie

Anthony, Im also thinking about getting some. My first target would be the ABR800 Ring Flash to compliment my speedlights.
Regarding the trigger, instead of Pocket Wizzards, why dont you use Paul Buff CST and CSRB Cyber Sync System AlienBees - CyberSync™ System
I have been using them for almost 2 years and they function flawlessly.
The only time i did have a miss fire is when the battery was low on the trigger. Aside from that is 100% reliable.

Browncoat

Ordered x2 Alien Bees B800 units today.

The jury is still out on transmitters. Currently, I use the Cactus v4 system for my speedlight, which is plenty for that purpose. However, many of the pros I've worked with swear by Pocket Wizards, so I'm obviously leaning that way. They're expensive, but they're the best. Might be a little overkill, but then again, I suppose having more than you need is better than not enough.

I also didn't order any light stands or light modifiers from Paul Buff. I kind of want to shop around on those, because I definitely want to get some portable soft boxes and I think I can do better on prices.

Browncoat

The rest:

x2 LS3900 13' heavy duty light stands
x2 30x60 collapsible lightboxes
x3 PocketWizard Plus II

I need a break. My debit card is smoldering...

Browncoat

I'm happy with it, but am suffering a bit of sticker shock this morning as I look at my depleted bank balance. Egad! And I still need a backdrop.

fotojack

And you're still married?? That should be your biggest shocker! lol :) Congrats on all the new stuff, Anthony. You're quite the photographer IMHO. :)

Browncoat