Nikon D800 vs Canon 5d Mark III

Eye-level

Banned
I don't care what you use it is what you get that is important and when we are talking top of the line pro level cameras it just doesn't matter. Like you said RM it is entirely subjective.

papa2jaja

With non-digital SLRs, I never trusted anything coming from Japan ;) and now it seems like Nikon and Canon invented photography - there are a lot of other companies that make really interesting cameras, too.

And that new organic sensor developed by Fuji and Panasonic might revolutionize everything (29.2 stop dynamic range).

That said ;) I had a lot of cameras from different brands over the time, and I always purchased them based on whether they were said to produce good image quality. I also never purchased a lot of glass, so I never got really tied to one brand.

I'm not a pro photographer, I don't shoot astro, fps and 8 minute exposure times are irrelevant for me. I had a Canon DSLR before getting the Nikons but was unhappy with some aspects, namely dynamic range and colours in difficult light conditions.

I searched for a solution and a knowledgeable friend pointed me to Nikons new sensors, on the D600 and the D800. I bought the D600 first, had the sensor dirt problem, and bought a D800 consequently (I know, others might have reverted to Canon, or another brand, I didn't).

I'm happy with the D800 because it seems to be the right camera for me. The dynamic range is excellent (as of today, in a few years it may be obsolete). I can shoot exactly the type of pictures I want to shoot, without worrying all the time about whether that bright stretch of sand should be in there or not because if it's in the sensor's dynamic range would be exceeded. Rather, I compose the image I want, and shoot, and the result is technically good (whether the image is good is another question, but that is the responsibility of the photographer, not of the camera).