Need critic

Dsobo

This is a request more on the photo and what my intent was.
While on vacation I wanted to get a shot of the sunrise with dark clouds along with the waves. As far as my intent I think I achieved that, my question is more for how it looks could I have maybe done something better as far as angle, height, etc....
The reason is my camera (until I get my new D5100 delivered) I don't have a whole lot of control.

Nikon L120
Exposure -3 from auto.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1347975939.884068.jpg

As much as everyone can let me know I'm still learning and need much criticism as possible.

aZuMi

Shot looks good!

There are only a few things I would personally change:
1. Wait for the wave to come closer to the frame (or move closer to the waves). I noticed there's a little more sand than water in the photo, so a little more water would be great.

I didn't realize you don't have the D5100 yet, but when you get it - I would add this in the list of recommendations. Aside from that, the only thing I can think of is the wave. Nice shot!

2. Maybe put a graduated ND filter on the lens? I personally don't shoot landscape, but the graduated ND filter will help control the exposure from the sky to give you darker clouds. I learned this from a friend of mine who does mainly landscape photography.

3. Longer exposure? I don't think you're going for the longer exposure look, but it will smooth out the water and clouds. Note though that you'll need a tripod for that...and I'm assuming you didn't have one for this shot?

Dsobo

Sorry on the misspell, I just noticed my phone messes with me at times on spell check.

Thank you that is exactly what I was hoping for, knowledge on learning and changing to get the best results possible, also thank you on the advice for using the “graduated ND Filter” I know now that I will learn a great deal from the Family at Nikonites.

I was using