People who buy way to much camera

AC016

I was not sure where to put this, so please move it to the appropiate place if need be. I will start by saying that i am by no means a pro photog. and i have boat loads to learn. I also don't want this to come off as being kind of snobish. My first DLSR over a year ago was a D3000 and then i traded it in for the D5100 because i wanted a broader ISO range, HD video (tired of carrying two cameras around with me), higher megapixels, scene selection/other bells & whistles and the swing out screen was nice to. At this point in time, this is enough camera for me for quite some time.

When i bought my D3000, i could have easly purchased something 3-4 times as expensive, but i did not. The reason i did not was because i had never really used an SLR camera before and secondly, for someone wanting to get more serious about photography, the D3000 was an excellent place to start without having all the other bells an whistles distracting me and leaving me scratching my head. Lets get the fundamentals down first! Therefore, i kind of irkes me when i hear someone buying their first DLSR and it is something like a D7000 or some Pro Nikon model - or Canon for that matter.

I can't help but think that these beginners are getting in over their heads and will not use the full potential of the camera for a very long time. That is my personal opinion. What do you think? Should a beginner jump right up to the pro models and skip the entry level products?

Last edited by a moderator: