Hello from Sunny West Wales

erik

Hello to everyone from the sunny Welsh Riviera and Centre of the Universe, otherwise known as Burry Port (or Porth Tywyn in my native tongue).

I have dabbled on and off with photography most of my life, but I am no expert. However, I have now decided to get more serious and this year intend to enrol in a few classes.

For the last 3 years I have owned a D80 and I am now lusting after a D7000 - except I can't get one anywhere. I am not sure I can last until the end of March, when they may become more easily available!!

Here's hoping.

Regards,
Erik.

fotojack

Welcome Erik. Lusting is allowed here. :) Some day you'll have that D7k, not to worry. :) In the meantime, keep having fun with your trusty D80.

crisscross

welcome Erik, especially being from a good part of the universe

I was wondering about silly prices of D7000 around Christmas and about 2nd hand as new prices had risen; then just after ProCameraShop | Product Search Results had them new at 2nd hand price ie £800. Glad I bought, though as they import direct from far east, you only have their guarantee. I see their last price had shot up and no longer in stock, but worth watching.

Amazon seem to have new & used....at a price
Nikon D7000 Body Only: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

As a D80 user over 4 years, I am sure it is the right way to go, unless you have hands, back and case to go to D300s, which are more plentiful used and as good. In 1 way better, in as much as there are so many damned buttons etc on the D7000 case, you have to look at it to know what you are poking & I would prefer to feel and the larger D300 body would sort that

erik