Legalities of Printing Photographs

jayne

I am a photographer, and I have a large format printer (the largest inkjet available) that I got for my own needs, and decided to offer the service to other photographers, to print their photographs on canvas or photo paper to virtually any size.

Who is responsible for verifying copyright? Who is liable in the case of copyright infringement? Me as the one who printed the photo, or the person who advised me that they either owned the image or had a release?

If someone says they own the copyright because they took the photo, is there any way to verify that? If not, who is liable if that turns out to be incorrect (either by misinformation or misrepresentation)?

I've checked various sites online that print photos professionally, and the only indication I see is that their "Order" page has a checkbox saying something to the effect that the customer either owns the copyright or has a copyright release to reprint the photos. I do not see anything mentioning that they have to provide said release or proof of ownership.

What about if I'm requested by someone other than the photographer to print their photos, do I need to have a release on file before printing? Or does the responsibility fall on the buyer to make sure they have the release in their possession?

Thank you!
~Jayne

Carolina Photo Guy

Essentially, you are asking whether or not you can be sued for aiding copyright infringement.

First, you need to ask a lawyer about the details and how to protect yourself.

Second, you had better understand that we live in a litigious society and a ham sandwich can be sued for anti-semitism!

You can also be sued for defamation if you REFUSE to print a suspect photo!

Having said all of that, my suggestion would be to retain the services of a lawyer and do what he, she or it says.

The best lawyer is the one that you would not want included in your family.

Hope this helps.

Rick M