looking to shoot wildlife

wildmann

hi! am kinda a newbie to cameras(have an older sony cybershot) and was trying to find classes in wild life photography for Colorado! I am an avid hike/backpacker/hunter and artist at hand and wanted to try shooting game in Colorado the professional way! I am looking to take a course/classes in wildlife and then purchase pro-equipment to shoot! any suggestions would be awesome! thanks!

cbay

The D7000-7200 cameras and the Sigma & Tamron 150-600 lenses are a good option. If budget wasn't a concern and you didn't mind the weight one could go all the way up to the D4 with a 600 f/4 lens. Options can be expensive. As a hunter and wildlife enthusiast i really enjoy the first option.

mikew_RIP

Welcome to the forum,i would suggest you look at the D7200 as for a lens give serious thought as to how much weight you want to carry around.

jay_dean

Pro equipment? I'd look at the kind of distances you're thinking of shooting at, and take my considerations about bodies and lenses from there. If its large game at reasonable distances with a large prime lens (say 400-500mm+) then a D4 or D810 may be a consideration. If its birds at a distance, and you crop deep, the D4 would be a poor option, the D7100/7200 would be the much better choice.

Moab Man

I would like to hear the budget. Would not be surprised if the poster doesn't know what "Pro" equipment costs,

Welcome to the forum.

Stoshowicz