Why choose Nikon, x many years ago ?

undercoverbrother

Good Afternoon,

I have a question for each and everyone of you

1. why did you choose Nikon over competing brands (namely Canon)?

2. knowing what you know now would you make a switch to another brand back then ? ( a bit of a back to the future type question haha)

As for many doing so would at this stage would simply be to costly.

P.S

Apologies if this is in the wrong thread, I am still learning to navigate through the site.

Woodyg3

Contributor
I always wanted a Nikon when I was a kid, and finally got one when I was an adult and could afford one. No regrets to this day.

skater

When I went into the camera shop to buy a Canon Rebel 2000 (I think) the shop talked me into the Nikon N65 because it had a metal ring instead of a plastic mount ring on the body. The model was otherwise equivalent. It was THAT close.

Roy1961

Contributor
when i went to buy my camera, it was between the rebel T3I and the D60, I choose the D60 because i got the 18-55 and 55-200 for about the same price, never had any regrets, plus if i remember the T3I felt a bit plastic?

Panza

I came from a family with 20+ years of Nikon pride which seeped into me as well. It really helps that we can use and share lenses / gear when needed. The majority of family make fun of us when we have Canon's or Sony's out, so the pressure is real.
When I gave away my Nikon DX camera and lenses to my little sister, I had the option to go to Canon, but I stayed with Nikon because the D750 intrigued me. While building up my collection of FX lenses I can borrow family's.
I use a Sony too because sometimes having a tiny mirrorless is nice, Nikon1 isn't up to par yet. The tiny sensor makes for lackluster DOF which is unappealing to me. It is not cost effective to have two systems, photography is my most expensive hobby but I do it because I love it.

paul04