New photographer

JamesDean

Hello everyone, I'm new to photography and eager to learn, I recently purchased a d5200 and can't wait to get the hang of it(first dslr) :cool: well ill be seeing everyone around...

-grindin-

MrRamonG

Welcome! Good luck with your camera. Feel free to ask the Forum if you have any questions, there are some really talented and knowledgeable people here.

crycocyon

Welcome and congrats on the new camera. Not only did you pick a great hobby, you picked a great camera to start things off. Do you have a particular subject interest or just going to go out and try different things?

JamesDean

Thanks for the warm welcome, I've always liked photography but the main reason Im getting into it is to help my mom get pictures for her magazine. Ill be doing alot of interior shots of people's houses for her, then a lot of family, outdoor, and macro shots for fun.

crycocyon

That's how a lot of pros start out, by helping others to get photos and end up developing their own line of work. So I'm assuming it came with the 18-55mm DX lens which is a good all around lens although for interiors there is always the matter of there being enough light plus you want to have sufficient depth of field and that lens isn't really too fast (ie: not so wide aperture). I would strongly consider getting an inexpensive but sturdy tripod which will suit you well for both the interior work (can use longer shutter speeds with smaller apertures without having to bump up the ISO like crazy), and for the macro work which for careful focusing benefits from tripod use.

JamesDean