+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Joyous Cubs Fan
    Super Mod
    Eduard's Avatar

    Thumbs up Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    I recently purchased the Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 camera bag to use with my Nikon 1 V1 system. Below is my review of the bag Ė including some ideas that Iíd like to see in the next version! (I know, it just came out but everything can be improved, right?)

    The most important aspect of a camera bag is build quality IMHO. The construction of the bag is excellent. Below is a comparison of the size of the Mirrorless Mover 20 to my most frequently used D300 bag, the Lowepro Event Messenger 250.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-1.jpg

    While we talking about quality, the strap is just ďokayĒ. I realize at this price point and what is supposed to be a small footprint, that you donít want the strap to overwhelm the bag. This strap is a little too basic for my taste and I will most likely use something different. At least the strap is detachable.

    Below is my basic kit that I hope to put into this bag. It consists of:

    • Nikon V1 with Fotodiox Pro grip and mounted Nikkor 18.5mm lens
    • Nikkor 6.7-13mm and 30-110mm lenses
    • SB-N5 Speedlight
    • GP-N100 GPS
    • ML-L3 Wireless Remote
    • Extra EN-EL15 and wall charger
    • Circular Polarizer and Neutral Density filters
    • Tripod


    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-2.jpg

    Letís load the bag. Below is how I would configure the bag for transportation and/or storage of my kit.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-3.jpg

    Remember that kids game of ďone of these things doesnít fitĒ? There is nowhere for my tripod unless I lay it across the top and risk scratching the camera.

    I wish the bag were one half to a full inch wider. As it is now, I had to slightly offset the lenses with shades attached to fit them into the bag. Below is a cropped image showing the snug fit.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-4.jpg

    I like the front pocket design. The rain hood takes up one of the sleeves. In order to not remove the rain hood, I stored the spare battery in the side pockets. My first real complaint is with the side pockets. They are pretty useless. If I were to revise the bag, I would put side zippered pockets similar to what is in front. My Tenba Messenger Daypack is a perfect example of useful zippered side pockets. On the Tenba I store my spare battery and filters in them.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-5.jpg

    While youíre looking at the side pocket with the battery, you can observe a pass through belt pocket/loop on the right. I honestly canít see anyone using this as a belt bag. Much more useful would have been a strap to fit over a roller board suitcase. The bag is wide enough and even a simple elastic design as shown below would be great. The ideal would be a design that zips at the bottom as a pass through or can be used for storing paper when zipped.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-6.jpg

    Letís get practical. How does the bag work in the field? I wonít carry the battery charger and would have the GPS installed on the V1. I would want to be able to easily take the V1 into and out of the bag. In order to facilitate that, I will stack the 6.7-13mm and 30-100mm on the side as shown. This is workable.

    Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review-thinktank-7.jpg

    Iím encouraged to see Think Tank create a bag geared (bad pun intended) at the needs of mirrorless shooters. I think this bag is a great first start and will meet my immediate needs. As I pointed out above, there are areas for improvement. Iíll be watching to see if version 2 incorporates some or all of my recommendations Ė especially regarding the tripod. Until then, Iíll be using the Mirrorless Mover 20.


    › See More: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review
    Last edited by Eduard; 03-30-2015 at 03:24 AM.
     
    "The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it" -Ansel Adams


    Fuji X-T2 | Fuji X-T20 | Nikon 1 V3 | Nikon 1 J5 | Too much glass | G.A.S

    Use this link for a free gift item with $50 purchase at Think Tank Photo!!



  2. #2
    Senior Member
    crashton's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Thanks for the review Eduard. Reading your posts is getting co$tly for me.
    Thanks/Like Eduard Thanks/liked this post
     
    Chuck

    Fuji XT-1 Fuji XE-1 Nikon V1 Nikon J1



  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Phillydog1958's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Your review is well done and thoughtful. I agree with your sentiment, especially the portion on the useless side pockets and the lack of a rear pass-through that would allow for carrying on a roller bag. Who on earth, in their right mind, would attach this bulky, unbalanced thing on their belt? As far as the strap goes, they should've included one of those attached shoulder pads for comfort. For this premium price, they could do that. Overall, it's a nice attempt by Thinktank and perhaps the next version will fulfill all of our needs. So, let me make sure I have it correctly, you were able to get ALL of your gear in photo 1, into the bag, at once? I just upgraded my refurbished J1, to the V2. I missed having a viewfinder. Shooting in direct sunlight was difficult. With a lens attached, the V2 is a slight bit more bulkier than the V1. The body is smaller, but the new grip does add a little bulk. I'm a little concerned about how much extra space it might take up, when compared to the V1. Also, my other thought is to consider the larger Mirrorless Mover 30. The only problem is that it's almost too big. It's more bag than I need. Once again, great review, Eduard.
    Last edited by Phillydog1958; 05-17-2013 at 09:43 PM.
    Thanks/Like Eduard, Rick M Thanks/liked this post
     
    Nikon 1 V3: w/ 6.7-13mm ultra wide, 18.5mm prime, 10-30mm PD, 70-300mm CX, Nikon SB-N7 Speedlight, FT1 Lens Mount
    Nikon D810: w/ Nikon MB D12 Battery Grip,
    Nikkor: 16-35mm f/4G, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/4G, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G, Micro 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8G
    Nikon TC-20EII Teleconverter, Nikon SB-700 & SB-600 Speed lights

  4. #4
    Joyous Cubs Fan
    Super Mod
    Eduard's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by crashton View Post
    Reading your posts is getting co$tly for me.
    I love spending other people's money!
    Thanks/Like crashton, Rick M, Bill16 Thanks/liked this post
     
    "The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it" -Ansel Adams


    Fuji X-T2 | Fuji X-T20 | Nikon 1 V3 | Nikon 1 J5 | Too much glass | G.A.S

    Use this link for a free gift item with $50 purchase at Think Tank Photo!!

  5. #5
    Joyous Cubs Fan
    Super Mod
    Eduard's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillydog1958 View Post
    So, let me make sure I have it correctly, you were able to get ALL of your gear in photo 1, into the bag, at once?
    Everything EXCEPT the tripod. The 3rd picture from the top shows it - the lenses are under the small bag for the GPS and the wall charger. The last picture shows how I will actually use it. I wouldn't need to carry the charger around and the GPS would normally be on the V1. I stacked the lenses to make it easier to take the body in/out.

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillydog1958 View Post
    I just upgraded my refurbished J1, to the V2. I missed having a viewfinder. Shooting in direct sunlight was difficult. With a lens attached, the V2 is a slight bit more bulkier than the V1. The body is smaller, but the new grip does add a little bulk. I'm a little concerned about how much extra space it might take up, when compared to the V1. Also, my other thought is to consider the larger Mirrorless Mover 30. The only problem is that it's almost too big. It's more bag than I need.
    Congrats on the V2!! How do you like it so far? I don't think it would be much "taller" than the V1 with the GPS installed.

    According to the Nikon website the dimensions of the V2 are Width 4.2 in. (107.8mm) X Height 3.2 in. (81.6mm) x Depth 1.8 in. (45.9mm)Excluding projections while the V1 dimensions are Width 4.4 in. (113mm) x Height 3.0 in. (76mm) x Depth 1.7 in. (43.5mm) Including projections. Remember I also have a Fotodiox grip which probably makes the V1 larger than the V2.

    You are thinking exactly along the same lines as I did regarding the Mirrorless Mover 30.
    "The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it" -Ansel Adams


    Fuji X-T2 | Fuji X-T20 | Nikon 1 V3 | Nikon 1 J5 | Too much glass | G.A.S

    Use this link for a free gift item with $50 purchase at Think Tank Photo!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Phillydog1958's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Eduard View Post
    Everything EXCEPT the tripod. The 3rd picture from the top shows it - the lenses are under the small bag for the GPS and the wall charger. The last picture shows how I will actually use it. I wouldn't need to carry the charger around and the GPS would normally be on the V1. I stacked the lenses to make it easier to take the body in/out.


    Congrats on the V2!! How do you like it so far? I don't think it would be much "taller" than the V1 with the GPS installed.

    According to the Nikon website the dimensions of the V2 are Width 4.2 in. (107.8mm) X Height 3.2 in. (81.6mm) x Depth 1.8 in. (45.9mm)Excluding projections while the V1 dimensions are Width 4.4 in. (113mm) x Height 3.0 in. (76mm) x Depth 1.7 in. (43.5mm) Including projections. Remember I also have a Fotodiox grip which probably makes the V1 larger than the V2.

    You are thinking exactly along the same lines as I did regarding the Mirrorless Mover 30.
    I like the V2. I would've settled for a V1, but I couldn't find one anywhere. There are a few benefits -- The grip, the mode-dial wheel and the flash and a few others are nice. I'm glad to hear that you're able to get everything in the bag. I might just spring for it. Thinktank make a classy bag. I prefer the 20 over the model 30. You're right about the grip. It does add more bulk than the V2's grip does. I forgot about that. Thanks for your response
    Thanks/Like Rick M Thanks/liked this post
     
    Nikon 1 V3: w/ 6.7-13mm ultra wide, 18.5mm prime, 10-30mm PD, 70-300mm CX, Nikon SB-N7 Speedlight, FT1 Lens Mount
    Nikon D810: w/ Nikon MB D12 Battery Grip,
    Nikkor: 16-35mm f/4G, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/4G, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G, Micro 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8G
    Nikon TC-20EII Teleconverter, Nikon SB-700 & SB-600 Speed lights

  7. #7
    Joyous Cubs Fan
    Super Mod
    Eduard's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillydog1958 View Post
    I'm glad to hear that you're able to get everything in the bag. I might just spring for it. Thinktank make a classy bag. I prefer the 20 over the model 30.
    I'm thinking the 18.5mm might look good in the new bag too? Just trying to save you money on shipping.
    Thanks/Like Phillydog1958, Rick M, Bill16 Thanks/liked this post
     
    "The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it" -Ansel Adams


    Fuji X-T2 | Fuji X-T20 | Nikon 1 V3 | Nikon 1 J5 | Too much glass | G.A.S

    Use this link for a free gift item with $50 purchase at Think Tank Photo!!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Phillydog1958's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by eduard View Post
    i'm thinking the 18.5mm might look good in the new bag too? Just trying to save you money on shipping.
    LOL . . . How do you like that 18.5mm? I would imagine that you love it.
    Nikon 1 V3: w/ 6.7-13mm ultra wide, 18.5mm prime, 10-30mm PD, 70-300mm CX, Nikon SB-N7 Speedlight, FT1 Lens Mount
    Nikon D810: w/ Nikon MB D12 Battery Grip,
    Nikkor: 16-35mm f/4G, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/4G, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G, Micro 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8G
    Nikon TC-20EII Teleconverter, Nikon SB-700 & SB-600 Speed lights

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Phillydog1958's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    Nevermind, I just re-read your review on the 18.5mm. I remembered that you already posted.
    Nikon 1 V3: w/ 6.7-13mm ultra wide, 18.5mm prime, 10-30mm PD, 70-300mm CX, Nikon SB-N7 Speedlight, FT1 Lens Mount
    Nikon D810: w/ Nikon MB D12 Battery Grip,
    Nikkor: 16-35mm f/4G, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/4G, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G, Micro 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8G
    Nikon TC-20EII Teleconverter, Nikon SB-700 & SB-600 Speed lights

  10. #10
    Joyous Cubs Fan
    Super Mod
    Eduard's Avatar

    Re: Think Tank Photo Mirrorless Mover 20 Review

    I had an opportunity to use the Mirrorless Mover this week-end. It worked exactly as I had hoped. I used the strap that came with it for the first outing. . . I'm still leaning towards using something more substantial.
    Last edited by Eduard; 05-28-2013 at 04:25 AM.
    Thanks/Like Phillydog1958, Rick M Thanks/liked this post
     
    "The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it" -Ansel Adams


    Fuji X-T2 | Fuji X-T20 | Nikon 1 V3 | Nikon 1 J5 | Too much glass | G.A.S

    Use this link for a free gift item with $50 purchase at Think Tank Photo!!





Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above before posting.

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •