Struggling to understand Picture Controls

chopperaddict

I used to be a software designer/Author in my earlier life, so I was always providing exactly such (multiple) configuration options so my users could always have my software run in exactly the way they had configured it, and usually, they could indeed select from more than one configuration, so I guess I am biased by having been a really helpful program designer :)

So my first thought was that this PC option would save ALL my settings, eg Shutter, Aperture, bracketing options etc, but I have now come to the conclusion that I am totally wrong in this assumption. It appears that ONLY the options provided in the PC save menu options, such as Sharpness, Brightness, etc are in any way different to the settings I may have been using before I switched to a different PC. ?

Can someone please confirm that my assumption is correct, as I have spent hours trying to save different Shutter and Aperture modes into my PC's, but without any success. I wish it did indeed reset everything I may have set in the menus and Info screen, but I guess that is just wishful thinking on my part, based on my own history ?

Fred Kingston_RIP

I'm hazy on what you're trying to do... What do you mean by "PC option" to save settings??? Nikon uses "Picture Controls"... to save exposure and various settings... and external software "reads" those settings... Don't forget, you're dealing with a RAW data sensor... The camera captures RAW data... External programs can read that data, and then apply various interpretations/settings to that RAW data file... Nikon embeds those "Picture Control" settings in the RAW file... Most folks use other software to "adjust" those settings individually...