NEWBIE... Camera lense wich one and why

DrakeHave

Hello guys...

First of anything I I'm a newbie here at all about DSLR cameras but i always wanted one so finally got one.

So when i got my nikon d5300 for my first camera it came whit a 18-140mm lense, i seen is a really good lens but my question is. Do i need to get an 18-55mm lens?.

My question is if i need that lens because i I'm a newbie on this, so the most of the time I'll be taking pictures from different things and different ways so that's why i was thinking maybe will be better get this smaller lens.

But what do you guys recommend me, i should just start learning whit the 18-140mm and keep going with this one or i should get the 18-140mm?

My question is, do i really need the 18-55mm?

Thanks for all.

(Sorry for the confusing i still learning English)

BF Hammer

Quick answer: No.

Reason: You already have that zoom range covered. The 18-55mm might be a little bit nicer on optical quality, but not really enough to justify buying it and having as a 2nd lens.

Me, I would consider getting a used 35mm f/1.8G lens to use in indoor family or event situations. It is within your existing zoom range but that lens offers some real benefit using with less light available.

An external flash is something else to consider. Pop up flashes are kind of weak normally for work other than filling in some shadows in a bright setting.

DrakeHave

Quick answer: No.

Reason: You already have that zoom range covered. The 18-55mm might be a little bit nicer on optical quality, but not really enough to justify buying it and having as a 2nd lens.

Me, I would consider getting a used 35mm f/1.8G lens to use in indoor family or event situations. It is within your existing zoom range but that lens offers some real benefit using with less light available.

An external flash is something else to consider. Pop up flashes are kind of weak normally for work other than filling in some shadows in a bright setting.