My macro musings

Clovishound

Disclaimer, I am still fairly new to macro. I am certainly no expert, nor did I stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night. These are some of the things I have learned that may be of help to some of you out there. These things are probably already known by the more experienced. Some of them may be wrong. If you think so I encourage you to say so, and why.

1. Get out there and shoot. That seems somewhat obvious, but it is important to spend time scouting locations and taking pictures when you find those good locations. The more I go out, the more keepers I get, and the keepers get better.

2. Luck is important. A prime example is this picture I took yesterday.

_DAB4018.jpg

I'm not saying it's a great picture, but it is one of my best macro shots to date. I was incredibly lucky to get him with his tail curled around the center of the flower. The circles within circles and curves really made this shot, as well as the vibrant color of the flower. While there was certainly luck involved, the other side of the coin was that I spent a lot of time slowly walking back and forth in front of this flower bed looking for likely subjects. Had I just made one or two passes, I would have missed it, as he moved shortly after I took a series of shots. In many ways you make your own luck. You also have to be ready to take advantage of the lucky opportunities when they present themselves. In this case I had my camera set and ready to go without delay.

3. Take lots and lots of shots. With macro, even with the best technique, you will fall short many times with focus, composition and changes by the subject itself. Many subjects are on plants, webs etc that move with the least little bit of wind and the point of focus moves drastically. There are a few things that will mitigate this, but the best is to take a lot of insurance shots. You will quickly learn the situations that need a lot of extra shots, and those that may only need a few.