Kodachrome turns 50

BF Hammer

I was listening to the song on the radio at 6 years old. But it would be about 3 more years before I had my own Zenith AM transistor radio.

Clovishound

I was in college. When this came out photography was not an interest, although that developed just a few years later. Started with an Argus C-4 and blossomed with the acquisition of a used Practica and a Durst Enlarger. I started shooting some Kodachrome with the Practica, and really liked it.

Sandpatch

I came across a Kodachrome artifact in a closet this past weekend. As it was never used, I wonder if I can return it to K-Mart for a refund? :) (Cell phone photo)

2023-04-11 Kodalux Mailer - for upload.jpg

Sandpatch

I've used a few of those.

Toward the end when Kodak began to close and consolidate its labs, they lost numerous rolls of mine, all irreplaceable railroad images. I still recollect what I lost. Sometime later, one of the railroad magazines had a short news story about people not getting their slides or getting someone else's railroad slides. Ends up there was a technician in the lab who was copying and sometimes stealing rail images he saw of interest.

With the death of Kodachrome and with digital cameras too highly priced for me, I exited photography and shelved my DSLR. Some years later, Nikon's introduction of the D5100 brought me into the digital age and a dozen years later, it's still my primary camera. :)

Fred Kingston

:D 😅🤣 Kodachrome was introduced in 1935... Slighty more than 50 years ago... Paul Simon's song Kodachrome (an illusion to a distorted reality) was released in May 1973... 50 years ago...

Clovishound

That's why I started the thread off with "The song, not the film.", but it has turned into a thread about the film. Actually looking over posts, it looks like I was the one that made the left turn to the film.

Sandpatch