Focus Ring Stops vs Continuous

Rink

Good afternoon, everyone.

I’m new on this forum, glad to be here, and I have a question about a lens.

I have a Nikon D5500 with a couple lenses. One is the AF-P 70-300mm which has a focus ring that turns continuously and never stops. I understand that there is a similar lens that has a focus ring that does have stops. I’ve read a bit about the differences in these focus rings, but I wouldn’t call myself knowledgeable on the subject.

I have trouble acquiring infinity focus manually with this lens (at night). I’m considering selling it and purchasing the model with focus ring stops if that might make it easier to find infinity focus. And I’m wondering if this continuous focus ring provides some other offsetting advantage for me compared to a focus ring with stops.

I’ve been into photography for many years, but I’m an amateur and photography is strictly a hobby for me. So I try to keep my expenses (and complication) as low as possible. I’d appreciate any advice on this situation from more experienced folk.

I hope this is an appropriate post and on the appropriate forum. If not, someone just please let me know.

Thx, rink.

BF Hammer

Hard stop or no stop, it should not really make a difference in dialing in to infinity focus.

I cannot determine which version 70-300mm AF-P you have. There are 3 different versions listed at imaging-resource.com. I used to have one, it was a full-frame version. I was not impressed with it's optical qualities. Is it possible you are seeing a typical unsharp image for a lens that struggles in fine detail? The usual way to focus for astrophotography is to use LiveView and use the screen zoom to enlarge a star as much as you can, then adjust the focus ring until you make the star as small as possible. That will be infinity focus, but it does not assure that the lens can make that star sharp.

Rink