Anyone use DaVinci Resolve 18 for Video?

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
So I am looking for video editing software and have heard great things about DaVinci Resolve 18. Has anyone used it for video editing? I'm a newbie when it comes to video so am not looking for anything expensive at this point.

Any pro/cons to mention? Or do you have other suggestions that aren't overly expensive?

Fred Kingston

If I were you, I'd start with iMovie on your Mac. It's already installed... Video editing software all pretty much follows the same work-flow process... and layout... You import video clips, you assemble/drag the clips on to a timeline that tells a story, you adjust the length of the clips, insert transitions between the clips so the story flows evenly, and you add a soundtrack to the timeline, and export a finished video... Different software just refines or adds more tools/features to each of those processes...but they all do the basic stuff as outlined...

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
If I were you, I'd start with iMovie on your Mac. It's already installed... Video editing software all pretty much follows the same work-flow process... and layout... You import video clips, you assemble/drag the clips on to a timeline that tells a story, you adjust the length of the clips, insert transitions between the clips so the story flows evenly, and you add a soundtrack to the timeline, and export a finished video... Different software just refines or adds more tools/features to each of those processes...but they all do the basic stuff as outlined...
Thanks. I will definitely look into this.

WaltE