Processing Pics from D3100

Xvector

Hello Folks. I hope i am posting this question in the right section, if not please let me know where to post.
I am using a D3100 with a Youngnuo speedlight.

I am still a beginner photographer and was hoping i can get some help as i am trying to process some of the pictures i took of a small corporate event in my companies atrium.

I am using ViewNX2 to process the picture and am just confused as to why the pictures are not coming out clear and sharp.

The question in specific is in the ViewNX2 screen wehen i move the size of the image to x1.0 which i assume should have it at the clearest i get a very distorted image. grainy would be the word. my data is below. I am shooting in M mode, and output is set to RAW+JPEG

ill goof around with some of the settings, usually crop the picture a bit to get rid of unwanted parts of the photo then output the picture into jpeg modes. the pictures are coming out very grainy...i was hoping someone could give me some input as to why that could be..

File Info 1
File: DSC_2796.NEF
Date Created: 12/7/2012 2:52:37 PM
Date Modified: 12/6/2012 12:21:16 PM
File Size: 15.1 MB
Image Size: L (4608 x 3072)
File Info 2
Date Shot: 12/6/2012 12:21:13.20
Time Zone and Date: UTC-5, DST:ON
Image Quality: Compressed RAW (12-bit)
Artist:
Copyright:
Image Comment:
Camera Info
Device: Nikon D3100
Lens: VR 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G
Focal Length: 46mm
Focus Mode: AF-A
AF-Area Mode: Dynamic, 3D
VR: ON
AF Fine Tune:
Exposure
Aperture: F/8
Shutter Speed: 1/60s
Exposure Mode: Manual
Exposure Comp.: +1.3EV
Exposure Tuning:
Metering: Matrix
ISO Sensitivity: Auto (1.3EV over 3200)
Flash
Flash Sync Mode:
Flash Mode:
Flash Exposure Comp.:
Colored Filter:
Image Settings
White Balance: Auto, 0, 0
Color Space: sRGB
High ISO NR: ON (Normal)
Long Exposure NR: OFF
Active D-Lighting: Auto
Image Authentication:
Vignette Control:
Auto Distortion Control: ON
Picture Control
Picture Control: [LS] Landscape
Base: [LS] Landscape
Quick Adjust: 0