Filter advice

bgatty68

Can somebody please advise me on the use of filters as I am new to photography and would like to know about a few points on filters.
1. Why are they used
2. what are the things to look for in a filter
3. Are some filters better than others
4. When to use a filter

I know theres a lot of questions but most people that talk about filters talk as if the other knows all about them, but what about a novice. Please can somebody enlighten me because Christmas is coming and I would like a filter from Santa:D

§am

It depend what kind of filters you are initially looking at and want advice on.

Basic, clear or UV filters are used by a lot of people as a 'protective' filter for the front of lenses, but there is a whole wide debate on their affect on IQ. Some will swear by them, others will advise against - I find it's a personal choice.

Then you get into polarising, circular, ND etc etc filters - again a whole host of info for the knowing, just depends what you want to know.

co2jae

I was looking at filters on amazon and was amazed at the variance in products. I wanted something to protect my lens and to filter my outdoor winter shots. I found filters anywhere from 5 bucks to over $100.Reading so many reviews just made my head spin. I settled on the Zeikos ZE-CPL67 67mm Multi-Coated Circular Polarizer Filter for about 8 bucks on sale. I know it's cheap but I dont have the money to experiment with expensive filters and I don't really have a clue yet how to use them. If all it does is protect my lens I will be happy. At a minimum, I will have a new aspect to play with on my camera which is easily worth the 8 bucks in entertainment and I will begin the learning process at an affordable cost. That said....if anyone wants to suggest a budget filter(s) for shooting outdoor sports in the winter I would love the input. P.S> Shooting with the 70-300 MM AF-S 4.5-5.6 VR Lens

Last edited:

Dave_W

The Dude