Natural Lighting with D7000

tfernandes49

Good Morning D7000 Users.

I'm fairly new to using the D7000 and/or advanced cameras in general. I'm a HUGE fan of the natural lighting shots and have been trying to get it just right but am having some issues with the settings.

Right now, this is what I have for lenses...
1) 50mm
2) 18 - 55
3) 70 - 300

I also have the SB900 Flash

Here are my questions:
1) Are there other lenses that would be recommended for that more "natural" look?
2) What are the best settings to use to get that effect?

Thanks so much for your time!
~ T

stmv

the look? laughs,, well, that is more a function of the White Balance setting of the camera.

Our eyes forces light to the White state, but film captured more real, and people like the "look" because it is not often as our eyes see its (because of the brain correcting white balance).

if you leave it in auto wb state, the camera will try to force it closer to what our eyes see, but perhaps further from the "look".

so,, you can

1. leave it in sunlight WB, that more manages the light as it is.

or

2. shoot in raw, and tune the temperature and such to your own "look"

enjoy,,, learning light control is a core FUNdamental of photography.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Good Morning D7000 Users.

I'm fairly new to using the D7000 and/or advanced cameras in general. I'm a HUGE fan of the natural lighting shots and have been trying to get it just right but am having some issues with the settings.

Here are my questions:
1) Are there other lenses that would be recommended for that more "natural" look?
2) What are the best settings to use to get that effect?

Thanks so much for your time!
~ T

First, let me welcome you to Nikonites. I hope you find what you were looking for here. I'm sure you'll find a lot of information (sometimes too much) and will meet very interesting people.