Zoom Lens

Maxie

Hello everyone. I'm kinda new to all of this. Just got a Nikon D3100. I have a Nikon DX AF-S 55-200mm 1:4-5.6G ED VR lens and I would like a little more power. I've been looking at the Nikon 70-300mm F/4.5-5.6 AF-S VR IF ED G lens.

I enjoy taking photos of all kinds of aircraft in flight, but the 200mm lens just doesn't fit the bill. Unfortunately, money is a factor. I have my 200mm lens listed on ebay and found a 70-300mm that I've place a bid on as well. No idea if I'll win the bid or if I made the right choice. I should have searched for this forum first. I kind of put the cart in front of the horse in the case.

Nevertheless, I just read that the Sigma 150-500mm lens is good, but I don't think it has VR and it's out of my price range unless I get lucky and find one on a good deal.

So, what is your advice between the 170-300mm Nikon vs the 150-500 Sigma? Or is there something else I should be looking into?

Thanks

Max

Maxie

pedroj, I didn't know that Sigma had any type of VR. Thanks for the heads up.

btw, it looks like I posted this in the wrong section. Is there a way someone could move this threat to the right forum?

Maxie

Something else I know nothing about is a teleconverter? Do they work and if so how well on a D3100 with a 55-200mm Nikon lens? If so, what brand is the best go get?

pedroj

I know Nikons tele converters wont work properly on your 55-200mm...Kenko or Tamrons might..

I feel the Sigma 150-500mm would be better then a tele-converter on the 50-200mm...

Pierro

Maxie - Sigma made more than one model of the 150-500. You definately want the OS HSM version. OS is the same as Canon IS , Nikon VR and Tamron VC and these are all stabilised lenses. HSM is Hypersonic Motor and is Sigmas answer to modern AF focusing drive using Ultrasonic Oscillation