pictures Grainy, help

mashburn

So I am trying to shoot in a low light situations and keep getting grainy pictures. I go to change my ISO; take a picture; comes out grainy; look at what it says and it tells me it is at hi2, 6400. why? shouldn't I be able to set it to what I want in Manual?

(Also I am very new at all of this. I purchased the D7000 not long ago and I am now learning the world of DSLR. never done ISO/Aperture/etc. before.)
here are some examples I just took with just the computer monitor on.
1.jpg this is at 1/200 f5.6 iso H2
2.jpg1/80 5.6 hi2
3.jpg 1/80 f1.8 6400

Every time I tried to change my iso to a resonable amount like 800 for when I use it in low light.

any ideas why this is happening?

Last edited by a moderator:

fotojack

Seriously....read your manual on how to set the Aperture, ISO and Shutter speed. There are two wheels on your camera...one in the front just below your shutter button, and one in the back. One is for setting shutter speed, the other for setting aperture. This is done by depressing the shutter button half way down and turning the wheel at the same time (one wheel at a time).

mashburn

ok I have done so Jack, but it keeps auto setting it on me. I set it at 100 and I take a picture and it shows in preview it is H2.

I can change the thumb wheel all I want to make it 1/200, 1/500 etc all I want but it does not make a difference on what I put it on.
I can also change the F, and it helps but it is still grainy.
I hold the iso and turn the thumb wheel and see it change (400 for example) in the top little window of settings. take a picture and it does not actually do it. yet after the picture I go to click on my iso and it will still show 400 or what I ever I set it as.

fotojack

You have to have everything set on M (manual) to change all the settings, including the lens. Try that. :)

Also, in your camera Menu, turn Auto ISO off. I think it's in your Custom Settings Menu (B1).

Last edited:

mashburn