Hello from NW Montana

Montana Michael

Hi all,

found this site using Google search and glad i did. i have spent the last couple hours reading posts on all kinds of subjects. i am new to the digital photography world and looking forward to learning so much and seeing progress hopefully with the quality of my pictures. i have had a point and shoot camera and had some photos that really turned out good but wanted more options when taking photos. i had read so many reviews on cameras and gear that it took me over a month to decide. my current camera is a Nikon D 3100 with the 18-55 lens included plus i purchased the 55-200 zoom as well. i have 2 filters, one for UV and the other for circular polarizing. i am going to order a wireless shutter release that another user recommended from this site soon. plus i have 2 sandisk extreme SDHC 16 GB memory cards. i also have an extra battery and a charger for my vehicle. i am considering a couple books as well but i am going to wait on those until i can find some recommendations in these forums. the books i am considering are written by Bryan Peterson about understanding exposure and shutter speed. i am also considering the 3100 for dummies book too. a friend sent me a digital copy of "Light – Science & Magic: 3rd edition" by Focal Press.

thanks again for this site and all the information it contains!

fotojack

Welcome to Nikonites, Michael. Let me guess......from Montana? ;)

Hope you find the answers to your questions here, and have fun while doing it. :) Enjoy.

RockyNH_RIP

Hi Michael,

Welcome to Nikonites... I am also a new DSLR user and found this a great place to learn... Hope you find it as I did, warm and friendly.

Pat in NH

Eye-level

Banned
Hello Michael

Sounds as if you have a great kit...post some snaps!