Tripod

Maureen59

As a total newbie not only to photography but to cameras and equipment, I was wondering what type of tripod should I buy. Does it depend on what I am photographing or should I just get one. Any advice would be much appreciated please.

fotojack

Hi Maureen. Welcome to Nikonites. :) To answer your question.....find out how much your camera and heaviest lens weigh together. Then double that number. Use that number to determine the weight bearing capability of not only the tripod, but the ball head that you'll be using to mount it all on. I always recommend getting the best tripod you can afford without going nuts over it. :) Look at sites like Manfrotto, Giotto, Slik....there are numerous manufacturers to choose from. some are made from carbon fiber, some are aluminum, and some are even made from composite materials. The whole idea is to eliminate camera shake. My personal preference is a Manfrotto 055 model tripod with a 496RC2 ball head. Others opinion may be different. It all comes down to what you like, and your wallet. :) Hope this helps. Any further questions, just ask. :)

wysiwyg

Hi Maureen

A tripod is probably one of the items that you buy only once - unless of course your needs change drastically. The tripod itself is dependant on your preferences - for example if you photographed landscapes most of the time and were a rambler , walking miles to get to your final destination -then the total weight and size would probably be more important to you than a lot of other people. If you were running around a football field shooting sports - then probably a monopod would suffice. For general use -any good steady tripod would be good- try them out in the store to see which one you prefer. The actual head however is more important for different types of photography (IMHO) .. for my portraits of active kids I like to use a joystick style ball head for easy quick adjustments and for landscapes I use a 3 way head.

stmv