Zoom lens recommendation?

MoonManMike

Hi
A newbie here!
I've just bought a D3100, having become more and more fed up with compacts/bridge cameras

I'm used to SLR's, having owned a Pentax a number of years ago (pre-digital era)

I only have the standard lens with the camera and wish to add a zoom lens (for aircraft photography as well as other things)

Can anyone recommend a zoom lens (up to 300mm) that won't break the bank? Realistically, I don't want to spend more than £200 (less would be even better!)

Cheers
Mike

evan

Banned
the nikon 55-200 dx vr is the the only one that i would consider at this price. the uk market was flooded with them, affecting new and used prices. try mpb photographic. (all their stock is tested before they purchase, also warranted). dont get the non vr one. (i have owned both). its your best bet on a budget, works well with a raynox filter too if you fancy trying a bit of macro.

Last edited:

pedroj

You Say "(for aircraft photography as well as other things)"What other things would you like to photograph???

If you wish to shoot birds & sports you will need at least 300mm...

MoonManMike

Thanks for the welcome pedroj :)

The lens will be used for anything really, but particularly aircraft (flying and distant static) and also for cars (on race track etc), possibly a bit of wildlife although not frequently

evan, thanks for the advice. I'll look that up. I really would like a 300mm, but will see what's on offer

AC016

Hi
A newbie here!
I've just bought a D3100, having become more and more fed up with compacts/bridge cameras

I'm used to SLR's, having owned a Pentax a number of years ago (pre-digital era)

I only have the standard lens with the camera and wish to add a zoom lens (for aircraft photography as well as other things)

Can anyone recommend a zoom lens (up to 300mm) that won't break the bank? Realistically, I don't want to spend more than £200 (less would be even better!)

Cheers
Mike