D800 for holiday trip (total newbie)

seppi

Hi everyone,

please don't blacklist me right away :)

Till now I only use cheap beginner dslr's and played a litte (really just a little!) with aperture and focus.

Now I have the chance to borrow a D800 with 28-120 VR lens for a trip to San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego Zoo, Mexico and New York.

I now the D800 only performs best with manual settings and much experience. But it has some automatic features, right?

Would you think a beginner can get decent results with most settings in automatic? Or will I get poor results (not sharp, wrong focus etc.)

If you look at the images of the camera shot here, do you think I'll get the best result (f/8) by using automatic mode?http://www.dpreview.com/articles/1690347434/first-impressions-using-the-nikon-d800/2

(I want to use jpeg most of the time, now and then rar files, and mostly shoot without a tripod)

Thank you very much!

Last edited:

Dave_W

The Dude
A D800 would not be my first choice for someone new to complex camera systems but if you're careful and you put adjust the settings properly (auto-ISO, quality, etc.,) you should be okay. I will say a better camera would be a D3200, still has very high resolution but also has easy to understand scene settings and unlike the D800, it is much more forgiving.

Phillydog1958

Hi everyone,

please don't blacklist me right away :)

Till now I only use cheap beginner dslr's and played a litte (really just a little!) with aperture and focus.

Now I have the chance to borrow a D800 with 28-120 VR lens for a trip to San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego Zoo, Mexico and New York.

I now the D800 only performs best with manual settings and much experience. But it has some automatic features, right?

Would you think a beginner can get decent results with most settings in automatic? Or will I get poor results (not sharp, wrong focus etc.)