Party Pictures

Frederickvc

Hi everyone

I'm kinda new to this sort of taking pictures.
My dad gifted me a D5100 with the standard kit of 18/55 and 55/200mm including an sb700.
I'd love to take pictures of parties with the camera.

To do this I'm looking to buy the Nikon AF-S 35MM F/1.8G DX.
I don't really know much about the camera, but I do know how to set up the basic things.

I would need help with the Fstop and Aperture and ISO, etc, for taking pictures of a party. Flash settings etc.
And also how to set up my SB700.

Is it possible for someone to tell me which once to set how. In a clear way so a starter like me understands it.
Screenshot of the actual setup screen of the Nikon would be lovely as well, so I can start off as a copycat héhé!

Hope some of you guys can help me.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Welcome to the forum Fred. For a start, I would suggest you use the automatic mode. This should give you great results most of the time. After a while, do some reading (including your Nikon manual), you'll be ready to have more specific questions. Photography can not be learned in a jiffy. Practice only will give you experience. You want results fast, just use the automatic mode and then when you review your pictures have a look at the settings the camera used to take them and start experimenting. There is also a lot of information on the net and youtube and stroboist. Do a little bit of homework and we'll be all happy to help.

Last edited by a moderator:

len

Hi Fred. I use to own this lens and I found it great for Street photography being a prime lens it taught me to use my legs to get the shots and not my zoom. Unfortunately being mainly interested in landscapes it sat in my bag not doing much so we parted company. I agree with Marcel's advice to use in on Auto setting to get a feel for things...have fun :)

eurotrash

Here's my humble suggestions.