Lens filters

3Ring

Make your own with black construction paper. Cut out a circle which snugly fits on to your lens. In the center of that round cut-out cut a small star (use a star punch or exact-knife) or any other shape. Voila! Filter!

coach

thats not what i was looking for. Looking for the star effect when shooting lights at night. such as four point six point was just wondering what everybody was using

Eye-level

Banned
Coach the number of star points is dependent upon the number of aperture blades your lens has and whether they are straight or curved! You don't need a filter! Just a good lens and the proper ISO and exposure and aperture for optimum effect!

Coach that was a damn good question BTW...you are using the 18-55 so that lens has 7 blades and produces 14 star points (I'm pretty sure about this because they are rounded blades)... :)

Last edited:

coach

No problem 3Ring I am a newbie just trying learn. BTW you gave me some ideas to try with the construction paper. Thanks Eye level need to do some more experimenting with the camera.

coach

Thats it M.Hinch Now my next question how do I find out the size of my lens. From everything I can find online it says I would use a 52mm filter for a 18-55 mm lens.@ Jeff I would like to one day be able to take portraits and a big thing around here is a city lights session. Our downtown has several wrought iron arches that cross over the street that are light up at night and I think it would be a really nice affect. It's funny you brought up friday night lights Been thinking about following a local High School football team this fall and tell their season story with pictures not for profit just for the kids. I have taken pictures for year but never got serious about it until recently. So I have a ton to learn, but can't better if I don't shoot.

Eye-level

Banned