Refurbished camera received - all three lenses take soft pix

rick.osgood

Received my camera today and could not wait to try it out. Now, I am a newbie with this body (coming from a D40) and have been reading and setting camera functions all day. I took multiple pictures with all three of my current lens and none of them are sharp to me. I am shooting raw, AF-S, Single point. All shots were outside with bright Colorado sun using aperture priority mode, auto ISO. I ran through all f-stops for the lenses and none of the shots were crisp to me.
So, should I try fine tuning the focus or contact Adorama for an exchange?

I would attached a photo but they are all in raw format.

Thanks

Received my camera today and could not wait to try it out. Now, I am a newbie with this body (coming from a D40) and have been reading and setting camera functions all day. I took multiple pictures with all three of my current lens and none of them are sharp to me. I am shooting raw, AF-S, Single point. All shots were outside with bright Colorado sun using aperture priority mode, auto ISO. I ran through all f-stops for the lenses and none of the shots were crisp to me.
So, should I try fine tuning the focus or contact Adorama for an exchange?

Thanks

All lenses need fine tuning and RAW photos will need sharpened in post.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rick.osgood

All lenses need fine tuning and RAW photos will need sharpened in post.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Good feedback... I have watched but not tried the fine tuning method yet. Maybe I should try some jpeg's to see the difference until I figure out how to sharpen the raw files in post. Do you use PS or Lightroom?

gustafson

Thanks

What program are you using to view the RAW file? Wondering if it might have an option to convert to jpg. The other option is to upload a couple of RAW files to Dropbox or Google Drive or some such file sharing service and post a link to download.