Resolution Settings, Small, Medium and Large vs. Image quality

alarmguy

New to this forum, I am a casual photographer with a Nikon 3300 and I never really searched hard but I have searched to find out about something I read a long time ago.
My hope here is someone (pro or semi pro) can answer firmly with a certain answer.

Lets say I am using my digital camera like a "film camera" and perfectly frame what I want in the picture and do not intend on cropping.
Is there any advantage or disadvantage in image quality by taking lower resolution photos? I always take photos in the "fine" mode no matter what resolution I choose.

My Nikon 3300 offers, Large 6000 x 4000 24M, Medium 4496 x 3000 15.5m and small 2992 x 2000 6m photographs.

So my question, other then image size am I giving up ANY quality (or get better image quality) if I dont crop and use the smaller 15.5m or 6m setting for prints never then larger 11x14?

Hope this doesnt sound like a stupid question but think its legit, does taking smaller resolution photos on a 24 MP image sensor improve, decline or unchange image quality if you are not going to print a photo over 11x14?

Last edited:

mikew_RIP

Welcome to the forum,on the odd occasions i shoot jpeg i always use the highest settings,doing wildlife i can never be sure i will not crop.

WayneF

It is a personal choice, but I strongly agree with your Fine quality. Changing away from Fine is always wrong. A good small image is always better than a large poor quality. :)

If you never print anything, and only view on the video screen, Small should be plenty. Screens are smaller than that. But what if the picture of a lifetime does show up that you do want to print? Deciding later seems the best plan.

Even Small size will still print an 8x10, if very little cropping. But what if you end up with something good, but which really does need substantial cropping? Or that you want a large poster print?