Decision

photobasset

There are many camera brands to choose from and different formats to choose from. A interchangeable camera lens is my goal for 2016. I debating whether to chose a full DSLR (Nikon) or compact mirrorless. Size of the camera is not the factor in the decision. The major factors are image quality, potential of the camera for some growth i.e D 5300. I mainly shoot outdoors landscapes, nature, and birds.

If you had to choose between a DSLR and mirrorless why would you choose a DSLR instead of a mirrorless?

Woodyg3

Contributor
I am not a mirrorless expert by any stretch of the imagination, but DSLRs still have WAY more lenses to choose from, and I think that in itself makes them better for birds and other wildlife.

Chris@sabor

I recently watched a video by Tony Northrup, he said that one issue with the Sony mirrorless was the start up time. He said he definitely missed some shots due to this factor. So, for wildlife and birds it might be something to think about.

Chris@sabor

Another thing is, I believe that shots per battery charge is much lower with mirrorless... You can always buy extra batteries. Just another thing to consider.

Blacktop

There are many camera brands to choose from and different formats to choose from. A interchangeable camera lens is my goal for 2016. I debating whether to chose a full DSLR (Nikon) or compact mirrorless. Size of the camera is not the factor in the decision. The major factors are image quality, potential of the camera for some growth i.e D 5300. I mainly shoot outdoors landscapes, nature, and birds.

If you had to choose between a DSLR and mirrorless why would you choose a DSLR instead of a mirrorless?