Hello from Texas

AmberLaShell

Hello from Dallas, TX. I am a newbie photographer. Just recently purchased the Nikon D3200 for my first DSLR. I have previously only used a Nikon Coolpix point and shoot and decided I was ready to make the leap to a DSLR.

I am excited to get to know my camera and learn how to shoot in manual mode. I unfortunately haven't had much time in the week that I have owned it to get outside and get my feet wet. Though, I now have tons of pictures of my dog, my apartment, and the view from my balcony, lol.

I have always loved photography, and even as a child told everyone that would listen that I wanted to be a photographer. As an adult life got in the way and with so many interests I have let photography fall to the wayside. My recent spark came from when I took a trip to NYC in July of this year (2015) and though I did get some great shots, I was frustrated with not only how long my camera took to take the photo, but of how it would sometimes focus on the wrong things, and I had no control. I would like to say that I favor a certain type of photography, but I love it all. I love portraits, wedding, landscape, silhouettes, nature, you name it, I love it.

So any tips or tricks I can learn from my fellow nikonites is much appreciated.

Roy1961

Contributor
hello and welcome

best tip i can give is read the exif details from a certain shots that you like and try to remember them, then apply these as a starting point, if you are stuck take the shot in auto mode then transfer those into manual, you will learn after a while, took me 3 weeks until it sunk in, i got black pics then white then blury ones, all part of the learning process. Good luck.

AmberLaShell

Thank you all for such a warm welcome! Rocket cowboy, what are some great places in DFW to shoot? I haven't ventured out much past my apartments, but I have no idea where to look for some shots to help me learn.

BobB