Warranty

Nikonewbie

Hi, should I buy the 3yr extended warranty for 55$? How dependable is the D3200? The warranty covers everything even if I drop it in the toilet or if I'm drunk and dropkick it. I do not usually buy extended warranties but I have no experience with these camera's.

nickt

I'm not a fan of extended warranties, but I am starting to have an appreciation for drops and spills protection if its not too pricey. On impulse, I did buy a 4 year plan on Amazon when I got my d7100. I think it was around the same price you are looking at. It was a warranty company that I was not familiar with. I figured at a minimum, if they turned out to be a rip-off, Amazon would probably refund what I paid for the plan if I complained. If you go for it, keep in mind it might not cover a lens or it may only cover a lens kitted with the camera. Google the warranty company and see if there are many complaints. There will also be some complaints, so look for success stories too. I do use SquareTrade on our cell phones and made a claim once and they came through for me.

I think the camera itself is solid. If it doesn't break during the first year, it probably won't break during 3 years either. But if you drop it even on a carpet, it will probably break. Another thing to consider is what your camera will be worth during the 2nd and 3rd year. So for $55, its up to you. Some people might need to save for weeks to accumulate $55, others might drop $55 on drinks with dinner.

carguy

No. Extended warranties are money makers for the seller. I choose to use the BIG money they spend to realize that odd are certainly in their favor.

I don't buy extended warranties for anything. Strictly financially speaking, it is a poor decision.

To some, it gives them peace of mind, that may be worth something to YOU personally.

WayneF