Concert Tonight!

hkaborn2

Hi. I'm a newbie with a D5500 and 2 kit lenses (AF -S DX Nikkor 18-55 mm f/3.5- 5.6G VR II, and 55-200 mm f/4-5.6G VRII ED). I am heading to a Lucinda Williams concert tonight, have pretty good seats (2d row) and am hoping to take some photos. The concert is in an auditorium--the Ocean City NJ Music Pier in case any of you have been there--so I expect typical stage lighting, likely nothing too elaborate.

Of course I am assuming that I am not precluded from bringing the camera in. I also don't want to get flagged and ejected if I use the built in flash. So I'm looking for advice re which lens to take with me and which settings I should use.

My initial thoughts are to use the 18-55 due to the larger aperture setting, to set the ISO at 1600 and shoot in program mode. However if I do this the flash will fire, right? Anyway, I'm looking for suggestions.
Thanks.

10 Gauge

We won't really be able to give you much good advice as we don't know what the lighting scenario is going to look like at the venue. Typically though the artist will be fairly well illuminated (depending on genre, but I have a feeling this isn't a death metal concert :p). You may find that you won't have to crank up the ISO as high as you expect. If the background is dark I'd make sure that you're maybe in center weighted or spot metering so that your camera doesn't try and compensave for the black back ground and blow out your subject if you're going to use a program mode.