D90 Concert Photography

Özberk Akba?

As you know it is hard to capture a concert without a high ISO range and stability and the other features but D90 is an old camera. As long as my buget doesn't let me to upgrade I need some tips and tricks.

(BTW I am a one year ol photographer so kinda newbie I took photos from concerts before yet it would be great if you guys can give me some tricks maybe ? )

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
The only advice I can give you its to watch out for the way you'll be metering. Usually, concert pictures have a lot of blacks in the background, so if you use matrix metering you'll have a grey background and way overexposed skin tones.

My advice is to forget the meter once you've done a few tests to get the right exposure.

Get yourself prime lenses since they are a lot brighter than all zooms.

Good luck and practice.

carguy

Welcome to the site :)

Checkout Photographers like Jared Polin - Tips for Taking Photos | Photography Tip | How To for Photographers or Todd Owyoun - New York Music Photographer Todd Owyoung: IShootShows
They have some great tips for shooting concerts and have been for years.

A D90 can do well shooting shows with the right glass. I often wonder how people successfully shot photography 20 years ago ;)

These images were taken in 2013 when I first started shooting local concerts. Yes they were outdoors, but once the sun went down I maxed out my Nikon D40. I was green, just going off-Auto, very basic body and a 50mm 1.8G & 18-105mm.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/michiganclassics/sets/72157634654145707

FastGlass