Hello from Calgary, AB

SwainJ

Hey guys my name is Joe, figured I'd pop in and introduce myself. Pretty much a total newbie to DSLR's, and photography other then snapshots in general. I've owned my D3100 for about 3 years now but haven't used it as much as I initially thought I would, but would like to start more and more and have been doing my research on better technique etc. I finally got around to buying some more accessories for the camera in the past two weeks while I am away at work and look forward to trying it out when I get home on Friday.

Aside from the kit lens it came with I ordered the non VR 55-200 AF-S, as well as a 50mm 1.8 Series E to play around with some total manual shooting/macro. Ordered a few other things to play around with, some extension rings without electronic couplers, lens reverse mount, 52-52mm male coupler(unsure if I'll try these two out yet), battery grip w/ remote shutter, CPL/ND filters, and a monopod so I am hopefully more inclined to use it walking around the zoo and such.

I shoot in RAW because I am aware of the greater POST abilities, although I am a total rookie to that as well, have played around with photoshop etc. over the years but never enough to master it(or even come close). Currently have been trying the BBF technique using the AF-L button to lock AF-ON, although haven't got out to shoot much since I've learned how it works. I can totally see the messed up shots letting the camera decide, when it will grab focus of a tree instead of the subject I am shooting.

Anyways sorry for the novel, I will try and post some pics now of what I am not 100% happy with, but believe I can improve on now that I have a better understanding on a few key elements, not sure if it will show the EXIF data or if I have to do something special for that but here's hoping. Any tips/hints/C&C welcome, or any pointers in stellar places to shoot around Calgary, Thanks guys!

jay_dean