70 / 80 - 200mm to VR or not to VR that is the question

Fortkentdad

Sure, if money were no object I'd buy the newest greatest 80-200 VRII Nikkor, but I'm a frugal photographer. VR is nice. But I'm wondering with the high ISO capacity of a D610 does that take a bit of the shine off of the VR halo? VR pretty much doubles the price from 600-800, to $1300-1500.

I'm considering buying a used 70-200 VRI for about $1,300 or a 80-200 ED for $500-800 (depending on model). That's more than twice the price to get VR (and ever so slightly wider starting point). That VR1 lens is newer but still a used unit. I've have two push pulls already and find that push-pull mechanism a non-issue, but don't know if you can put a tripod foot onto the push-pull 80-200? Will get a chance to look at this lens and put it onto my D610 next week.

BUT I could buy a new 80-200 AF-D ED new for $1250, warranty and all.
Or a new Tamron 70-200 non VR for about $800 (Do I need VR? And it comes with nice case, unlike the new Tamron 70-200 VR (VC) for $1400,
Or Sigma 70-200 OS (VR) for same $1400 or used non OS Sigma for half that. (some reviews put the Sigma clearly in third place after Nikkor and Tamron)
I could not find any Tokina's available except off of eBay - imported from afar - for this level of purchase I'd want to know the vendor and if possible handle the lens.

Or new Nikkor 70-200 F/4 VR for $1300 (all others are F 2.8)

Those with motors also are attractive in that they can work on my D5100 as well. (My wife gets to play with it too then, but she already has a 55-300 DX VR she likes and this lens would be a bit big on a D5100). And someday I'll get a D7100 to replace the D5100.