Yet another "Should I go FX" question.

Craig Rogers

Hi all, first post (apart from an Hello),

I have been shooting away for quite a few years, started on a D70 then moved to a D7000 (which I still have) and now a D7100.

My main interests are animals/wildlife and own an AF-S 80-400 which on the D7100 is great. I also do some landscapes mainly sun and moon sets and rises.

I have the urge to step up to FX for better low light/high ISO shots (for dusk and dawn photography) and far better subject tracking.

Currently with the deal (in the UK) of a £400 bonus on a trade-in against a D810, I can pretty much trade in my D7000 and pickup the D810 (with 24-70 f/2.8) for the same price as a D750 (with same lens). To fund this, I will also sell the 3 DX lenses I currently own and probably also sell the D7100 (although I will try to hold on to this).

So, the question is, should I or should I wait for the d7200 which will get me closer to the performance of the D810. The main concern I have is image quality over performance of camera. If I crop (or indeed shoot in crop mode) photos from the D810, the pixel count is going to be lower than that of the D7100/D7200. However, I would like to think that the overall quality of the lower pixel count is still better.

So, the thing I'm struggling with pressing the "Go" button on the sale is weighing up the pros/cons of the performance of the D810 but with the lower pixel count when similar sized photos from the D7100 (or indeed the D7200).

It's a long way off before I could afford/justify getting glass longer than 400mm. I know in extreme cases, I could get away with a TC1.4 on the 80-400. I have also the option of renting a big lens in situations where I need longer reach.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:

jay_dean

Think it might be time to wheel this one out again!?
can-of-worms.jpg

Scott Murray