Picture size and zoom quality

JHarrellJr

Newbie here,

I am getting into bird photography and learning by trial and error is frustrating me.

I've found that I'm almost NEVER as close as I want to be to the bird so in post production I'm always zooming in and cropping.

I must be doing something wrong though because I am finding that with Large / Fine pictures I get the exact same image once zoomed in as I'm getting with Medium / Normal size and quality pictures. Isn't the point of more megapixels that you can make the image bigger without losing resolution?

Any enlightenment provide would be much appreciated.

AC016

It depends on how much you are cropping. By the way, what camera and lens are you using? If you have to crop as much as you are, you may want to look at a lens with a longer focal length.

paul04

Welcome to the website.

Could you give us some more info, like which camera you have, what lenses you are using.
And could you post a couple of test shot so we can see them.

Moab Man

Like the others said, need to know what equipment you are using. However, I know that regardless of equipment there is a lot of patience and skill involved with just getting close enough to even think about getting a decent picture of most birds.

J-see

What you should not forget is that whatever the JPEG size you use, you always shoot with the same resolution sensor. For mine the large format is 6K*4k and the smallest 3K*2K and while that might seem a huge difference, it really isn't. It's just a 50% smaller shot but it's still a very large file when it comes to images. It's probably larger than what your monitor can display.

The images you see here are 50% of that smallest format and then another 50% of that. It doesn't make them look pixelated does it?

And with the software capabilities of these days to blow up images, we won't see many differences for the formats we use. If you print, it's another matter.

The fine option and such is only about compression.