Haziness in pictures???

Wilson Schlamme

I'm an abstract painter whose trying to take decent pictures of my work as well. I'm encountering a haziness issue with my pictures, where it looks almost like the whites are...foggy??? I'm not sure why. I am shooting raw, Nikon d800.
My possible guesses: motion on the camera when I'm taking the pictures, causing slight blur. Too low shutter speed (it's not that low though, like a 40 sometimes). To high ISO, I think I'm at 1600 or something.

Any thoughts? I've attached two images. The one on the right is the picture. The left is a screenshot of an area of "haziness".

Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 6.13.27 PM.jpgDSC_1881.jpg

-Wilson

Scott Murray

Looks to me that you are not nailing the focus, try f/5.6 or there abouts. Also using flash or better light to lower the ISO will also help.

Eyelight

More info would be useful. Maybe post an image with EXIF intact or list the lens, shutter speed, f/stop, focal length, etc.

Eyelight

I get the EXIF from the image.

Odd, I couldn't read it in FF, switched over to IE and there it is.

Better light would allow faster shutter and smaller aperture and lower ISO, all of which would lean toward sharper.

It may be hard to get an exposure that provides the best detail in the whites and blacks at the same time, but I imagine some tinkering in post would work.

Try shooting outside in bright open shade or using a sheet or some sort of white cloth to diffuse the sun and get rid of hot spots. this should give you a ISO of 100-400 and a mid range aperture and a faster shutter speed of say 1/60 - 1/125 and at 25mm even 1/60 would be good. The haziness might be uneven light or hot spot.

Vixen

Another point maybe....with such an open aperture DOF is smaller so if you don't have your picture at 90deg to the camera you might be getting some DOF problems.