Im Alan, and i will become a pro photgrapher

Alansin

Haha im Alan, ive always loved the sound of a SLR taking a photo, so i stepped up from a Sony HX20V Cam (really good, point and shoot super zoom, gps)
to a Nikon D-7000 with a 18-140 mm kit lens and a SB-300 Flash ( all included on a bundle )
i also bought a 50mm f/1.8 D because apparently im a "bokeh whore" hahaha and ive read so many things about the "nifty-fifty"

Bokeh!!!

Im getting married in 3 months, and we have plans for moving to Lyon, France. Im an architect, i do Rendering, and all that, but maybe i will not be able to work in france as an architect. so i thought of becoming a photographer, or at least get as good as i can, and try to earn a extra income this way.

I have 3 weeks with the camera and i love it, i already went throught the manual like 2.5 times and i think i understand my camera very well. ive watched tons of B and H, FroKnowsPhoto and DigitalRev TV, ( im loving this guys, haha )

I think this kit lens ruined my life, because it has a very good range, and buying another one seems like a overlap in ranges... i dont know whats the next step, but i think im going to settle for a while until i figure out what i need. (But DAMN! That rokinon / Samayang 8mm Seems pretty sweet! )

Thanks for the site, threads, comments, and all the feedback!!

Last edited:

RocketCowboy

Howdy Alan and welcome to Nikonites!

That D7000 is a great combo and great matchup with the 18-140mm lens. I haven't used that particular SpeedLight, but sounds like you're off to a good start!

SkvLTD

All I can say is - really master one or two areas of this craft you really like, and then try to market your results. Think architecture school, though perhaps half as long but just as hard. Best of luck and feed off of our knowledge here as much as you can handle!

Blade Canyon