Using multiple focal points

Jergeesk

Hi, a newbie here. I am not having much luck yet when I use Manual Mode. I'm only having about 35% success when focusing on my subjects (the others being a light bit to far or to close). I'm wondering if I need to go get my eyes checked, it's been a few years or so since I bought these glasses.

Anyhow tomorrow I am taking a bunch of photos of folks at a family gathering at a park. There will be some group shots from 4 people to 9 people.

I'm not sure how to make certain I get everyone's face in focus when using the Program modes (or Manual for that matter).
I'm thinking I need to use the Landscape Mode but I really would like some bokeh behind the folks when I photograph them.
Is there a way to use the Portrait Mode with multiple focal points? Or multiple focal points in Manual mode and I'll hope for the best?

Can anyone help me out with some suggestions? Thank you :)

I have a Nikon D3200, the kit lens, a 35mm 1.8 fixed, and the 70 - 300mm

Jergeesk

I experiment with Manual Mode a couple times a week. I just don't seem to have much success hitting where I want the camera to focus. For example, if my kids are in a tree I often think I have it on their face but come home and throw it on the computer and discover I actually go the leaves right behind them in focus or the branch right to the side of their head.
That's why I wondered if it was my eyes that are the problem.

I've tried the diopter adjustment control twice. I have the book "Nikon D3200 for Dummies" ...... perhaps I'm more of a dummy than the average dummy :) I just reread the passage again and tried adjusting it again. I realized it likely IS my eyesight because I have the adjuster turned all of the way to the end. Time to see the optometrist.

What about getting multiple people in focus? Any advice for that before I had out tomorrow? Thank you.

Last edited:

singlerosa_RIP