Some advice to jump start the learning curve?

CharmedLife

Hi All,

I'm completely new to DSLR after years of the P&S. I really want to learn the craft of photography but am finding it overwhelming just looking at all the aspects of just the basics of taking good pictures. Do you all have any hints or book suggestions where to start? Which aspects would I start the learning process from easiest to hardest? I'm taking my camera everywhere I go and plan on keeping notes of what settings I use and when. Also, noting light and other things.

I've got a D3100 with the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S Nikkor zoom lens. I have the cheat sheets that goes with them but I don't want to have to rely on them starting out. I'd like to learn the entire process.

Thanks!

J-see

I was new to DSLR too, at least the D part. For me the easiest method to understanding my gear was to simply try everything. Try and adjust every setting and don't be afraid to push the gear to the max. That way you learn fastest what works, what doesn't and what you like. I'm still learning each day.

I checked and read some online and while there's plenty of good advice, in the end you're doing what others do without experiencing the wrongs. Often bad pictures are more "illuminating" than good ones.

Of course if you're completely unfamiliar with photography, it doesn't hurt to learn the basics first.

Horoscope Fish

For starters I'm going to suggest The D3100 Digital Field Guide.This book will serve as a brief, easy-to-digest introduction to your camera and DSLR photography in general. The idea here is to get you up and running quickly on the basics of what your camera can do, and how to handle different shooting situations. It's like a really friendly, greatly expanded User Manual.

Step two would be a copy of something more detailed and more comprehensive like David Busch's D3100 Guide to Digital Photography.

Pretzel