Im in tears

Rtistik

So The d3200 is my first nice camera. I'm an amateur. I watched a Youtube video on the basics. It had me set my camera to RAW. I just took pics of my daughters Homecoming and put my memory card in the desktop. I saved the ones I wanted to share on Facebook to my pictures folder. When I shared them they came up tiny like a thumbnail. I did some research and installed a converter to change it to JPG but the pictures are still tiny. What can I do to make them larger? I also didn't realize dropping pics into a folder would remove them from the memory card!
I'm scared that I may never be able to print her beautiful pictures because when I upload to a photo ordering site it says the resolution is low. Thanks so much for helping!

480sparky

Convert the original images from .NEF to .JPG using the software that came with the camera. It will be either View NX2 or Capture NX-D.

If you haven't formatted or deleted the images on the card, they're still there. If you have, stop using the card until you recover them.

Last edited:

Rtistik

Thanks so much for replying!I haven't installed the software that came with my camera because the disc drive is broken :(

Eyelight

The software will help once you have the RAW files from the SD card. Nikon RAW files will end with the NEF extension. If you can see the NEF files on the SD card, copy them to a folder on the desktop. After you have the NEF files on the desktop, you can view, edit and convert them to JPEG using the Capture NXD software.

Bob Blaylock