Low light photography: Should I upgrade / what to upgrade?

SuperPoser

Hi guys,
I read several similar questions on this forum with helpful answers, so I thought I would ask some specific questions.

I have a D5000 with two lenses, the Nikkor 18-200 VR2 and the Nikkor 35mm f/1.8. I have had this setup for a couple years and am very happy with this equipment for everything except indoor, low light photos when I want a wider angle than 35mm. (Such as family events or outdoor events in the evening when I want a wide angle shot.)

I am not an expert, but I do shoot in manual and adjust the settings.
When I set the ISO at 3200 or High (6400) in order to use my zoom lens at angles less than 35mm, the photos are usually very grainy and the color is not very good.
I do have a tripod which allows me to get good photos with longer shutter / lower ISO setting, but I typically do not have the tripod with me when I am at a family gathering.

Since the D5000 and the 18-200 work great for most of my uses (outdoors, hiking trips, railroad photography, family during the day, sports during the day, ...) I am not wanting to spend a lot of money unless it is the only option. So these are the options I found, and am looking for advice and possibly other options.

1) Perhaps the camera is capable of taking good photos, I need to learn how to use it in low light applications. (possible, but it appears others have had the same issue with the D5000.)

2) D3300 for around $400 (or less) used on ebay or refurbished on various sites.

3) Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4 for $445 on Amazon. (I am not sure if f/2.4 at 17mm will be enough of an improvement.)

4) Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 for $519 on Amazon. (I am not sure if f/2.8 will be enough of an improvement.)

5) D7000 for around $600 refurbished on various sites. (or less for a used body on ebay or craigslist)

6) Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 for $800. (I am sure this would work since my 35mm f/1.8 works great, but is this a better option than the others listed?)