Macro Lens for D5200

brian313313

I am looking to buy a macro lens for my D5200. The difficult things I want to photograph are insects, flowers and aquarium fish. I'll photograph plenty of other closeups but most will be non-moving so shouldn't require any special lense requirements. I've read reviews and have come down to three possible choices. I'm open to other suggestions as well and any links to good reading on the subject. I have about $1000 budget but can be flexible. I'm not a professional photographer and don't plan to be but I enjoy photography as a hobby and it brings my sense to the environment when I hike.

Here's what I've found so far:

Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro - The cheapest lense of the group and seems like it's better than the Nikon below according to a couple of articles I've read. However, the customer reviews are slightly below on Amazon and Adorama.

Nikon micro-Nikkor 105/2.8 VR - Very comparable in quality but quite a bit more money than the Sigma above.

Preface for the next one. I bought a cheaper telephoto lens ($300) and have not been very happy with it. It may be me since it has pretty good reviews. I only want to buy a lens once and I'll make the budget work on the next one if I am convinced it's worth it. I'll be waiting a lot longer on my next telephoto if I buy this one though.

Nikon 200mm f/4 AF-D - Crazy expensive but I want to buy a macro lens only once. I can make the budget on this but I'm concerned about a few things. First is the weight. I'll be hiking with this although it'll be in a backpack for the longer trips. Also is the f/4 instead of 2.8. I'm somewhat new so I may be missing something but I've always though that the lower the f-stop the better.

Also, my kit lens has done pretty good with macro photography. A 40-60mm is not likely to be enough of an improvement and also doesn't have a far enough working distance so I want to stick with the 100mm+ range for a lens.