24mm PC-E tilt shift lens

Geoffc

Just when I thought my bag was full of everything I needed I somehow ended up reading about T&S lenses. Whilst I'm not too interested in the world of miniature effects, the perspective control and endless DOF looks pretty cool.

I'm thinking of hiring one in a couple of weeks to see how I get on with one as it requires a little discipline. I would probably wait until next February if I decided to get one as that's my birthday and I'm fifty so my wife wants to get me something nice.

I also understand that I could get the Samyang or the Nikkor, the latter being a lot more expensive.

Has anyone got or used a T&S lens?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

gqtuazon

Gear Head
I also understand that I could get the Samyang or the Nikkor, the latter being a lot more expensive.

Has anyone got or used a T&S lens?

I have no direct experience but my buddy has one and from the structural examples that he took, they are pretty sharp. I wish Nikon comes up with something wider, similar to what Canon offers.

This is more of a specialty lens but I am also fed up in taking pictures of houses or structures that are not aligned vertically.

mr2_serious

Tilt shift lens are good for product photography too. Like shooting a cereal box. They are all manual focus as well.

I've only used the 85mm PC-E in class though.

Felisek

I wonder how much we need tilt-shift lenses nowadays, when we have digital cameras and photoshop. Distortion and converging lines can be easily corrected in post processing, like in this example:

Before:
1MG_1087_before.jpg

After:
1MG_1087_after.jpg