aperture and shutter problems

britnilaw

I am fairly new to photography and brand new to this site! Im having problems getting a clear image when im taking photos of my baby. Im using the largest aperture I have and a slower shutter speed gives me a blurry image obviously and faster shutter speeds my camera wont go off because it says the image is too dark. This is indoors. I cant seem to find a happy medium, Im using the large aperture for the blurred background effect, don`t really know photography lingo all that well yet haha but is there a difference way to achieve thatÉ I dont have a tripod though, im wondering if theres anyway around this without purchasing lighting equipment. HelpÉ

pedroj

Hi and welcome...You say large aperture, What aperture are you using???F2.8...F3.5 or F22...F35...If it's one of the latter [F22] that is one of the smaller apertures...

Boatboy24

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this stuff too, but had a similar problem just last week. What shooting mode are you in, aperture priority? Full manual? I was using aperture priority, but had previously adjusted exposure compensation. The compensation stayed, creating longer shutter speeds even at f/1.8. I did a reset and all was solved.

Jim

britnilaw

I've been shooting in all modes to get practice but mostly aperture, I've played around with it a lot and just can seem to get it to do what I want!!argh!so in a mode I had it on my largest aperature at say ISO 400-800 and still blurry, and on manual mode I just can't seem to find a happy medium or it won't let me

480sparky

I've been shooting in all modes to get practice but mostly aperture, I've played around with it a lot and just can seem to get it to do what I want!!argh!so in a mode I had it on my largest aperature at say ISO 400-800 and still blurry, and on manual mode I just can't seem to find a happy medium or it won't let me