D7000 v D5000

naayohmee

Hi there!

I am an amateur-intermediate photographer spending more and more time taking photos, so I'm looking to expand my kit. I currently own a D5000 and I was advised that I would see the greatest increase in image quality by upgrading my camera first.

I've been doing some research and it seems like the D7000 would be a good option for upgrading without completely breaking the bank.

My question is whether I would see a significant enough increase in photo quality with the D7000? Or if I'm spending the money, should I search a bit higher?

Bit of a vague question, but I appreciate any input!

Bill16

Welcome to nikonites! I would suggest if possible to go for the D7100 if you can manage it. From all I've heard it would be a worthwhile upgrade and worth the extra cost if your looking to increase the technical abilities and MPs. :)
I went a different route myself, and went to the D300 since the increase of MPs wasn't a real need for me. I felt that the D300 had a pro build and configuration that I was looking for, and I haven't been disappointed at all! Lol :)
It all depends on what your looking to get out of an upgrade! :)

Last edited:

nickt