Which lens would you recommend?

drummerJ99

I'm pretty new to photography got my 3200 about 2 months ago. So far love it. The 2 lenses I currently have are the kit 18-55 and a 50MM prime that a friend sold me for cheap. The wife wants me to get a zoom lens for her upcoming sisters high school graduation. I'm not super sure of the layout of the venue but pretty sure it's a auditorium. So would like to get a zoom to setup tripod in back of room. Unfortunately finances are kinda tight right now so here are the two options I'm looking at: The Nikon 55-200 which I can get refurbished at B&H photo for $109.Or the Sigma 70-300 which I can get off ebay for around $100 or new from Adorama for $160.

At this point it's really a toss up for me. I like the option of the extra 100mm for $50 more. And it has great reviews online. But also like the Nikon...well because it's a Nikon lens and easier to find if I decide to go used. So I figured I'd come here and ask for your help.

Thanks in Advance,
Jeffrey

Englischdude

save your money, get there early and get a front seat so you can use the 50mm. the 50mm prime is a faster lens, good for low light situations. A slow zoom lens fully extended will probably not give good results in this environment, hand held will be nearly impossible due to the slow shutter speed required (auditorium, low artificial light) to get the required exposure, resulting in either camera shake if hand held or motion blur if on a tripod. Either get close with your fast prime, or get a good fast zoom lens, which is probably going to break the budget.

Mike D90

If it is an indoor event, and poor lighting or even decent lighting, the 55-200mm will not get you what you need. You will need something f/1.8 or faster at its longest length. Maybe rent a lens if the event is very important, say a 200mm f2.8. Or make sure you get close.

Horoscope Fish