Aperture Priority/ Focus Modes

Rawfocus

Hi all,

Im fairly new to photography but am aware of the basic principles (if there are any in this pass time!) but am just lacking a bit of practice.

I mostly take pictures of nature when im fishing (self takes with fish) and the usual types when on holiday, but both these are unpredictable and infrequent.

Im having issues achieving a blurred background affect when snapping my captures (I want the subject to be pin sharp). Now I understand I need to use Aperture priority to achieve this affect but Im guessing Aperture alone isnt always going to guarantee the desired result.

My Lens is the standard kit 18-55mm and only 'stops down' to f5.6. Been advised to buy a Prime Lens to achieve what I'm after, so this is my long term step in the right direction. Still, before I feel confident enough to invest I feel I have to gain a better understanding.

For example, I shot at f5.6 yesterday, had a large distance between me and the backdrop, yet the affect was pretty much non-existent. Only thing I can think of was that I wasn't as close to the camera as I could have been (Ive occasionally fluked the affect in auto mode when ive filled the frame well-this isnt easy when doing self takes though!)

What factors do I need to take in to consideration? What other settings could be contributing to poor results? The only thing I can think of is to keep away from the Dynamic modes of focus ad just stick to single point..but beyond that I've no idea.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Rory

oldhippy

best to have a good distance behind your subject. Also large aperture 1.8 2.8 something in that range if possible. Other can explain better. Check out some DOF charts. Shoot a lot, and have fun. Ed

pedroj

Buy yourself a 35mm or 50mm F1.8 AF-S G lens will be a good start...Distance yourself from the background will help..

Bob Blaylock

The concept that you need to understand, @Rawfocus, is depth of field.